servingthehomeless

Just another WordPress.com site

I am NOT eating that!

on May 18, 2012

First impressions are never what they seem, especially at LAHIA! In order to be able to love you have to get past the exterior to see the life behind the brokenness of the people there.  No one plans to live in a tent in the woods in a secret spot, praying that no one finds them and complains.

I met T months ago when I first started going to LAHIA. He kept to himself and was quite a grump when you did get a few words out of him. A man in his late 50’s. He walks with a cane and has a grizzly adams kind of beard. Everyday I made a point to say hello but moved on to the others that were more talkative and looked for the attention.  I never really gave T much thought until we started serving dinners.

Night after night I watched him push the plate aside and not eat. I would ask him why he didn’t eat and he just gave me the “I am not eating that” and shut down again. “Can I get you something else?” I would offer but he never accepted.  It was kind of personal to me his not eating, I needed everyone to be full and happy to know I had served my purpose.

One afternoon I kind of pushed T to talk to me about why he wasn’t eating. I had no idea I was opening a flood gate of emotions and a story I will never forget!  T shared with me how he ended up homeless, how frustrated he was with his twin boys and how he has a ton of allergies and the food I was preparing had some component he was unable to eat.

Prayer and persistence had broken through the wall of grump which was T. Now I get to hear about his day, I get to hear him share stories of his childhood and the walls are crumbling as the Spirit starts to work within him. He has told me I remind him of his mother, she was a Godly woman too.  Each and every day I pray for T and my LAHIA family to find salvation in Jesus.

Titus 2:10-12

10 and not to steal from them, but to show that they can be fully trusted, so that in every way they will make the teaching about God our Savior attractive. 11 For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people. 12 It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age,

Leave a Reply

