servingthehomeless

Just another WordPress.com site

Finally understanding

on May 10, 2012

“Mom, Can I have a new bathing suit?”  What’s wrong with the 2 you have now?  They are old, I really just want a new one.  Again I have to have the conversation about needs versus wants with my wonderful 14 year old Em.  She gets it for the moment but I can completely see her resentment.  “Can we have McDonald’s for dinner?”  “Mom, Did you know that Hollister is having a huge sale, can we go to the mall?”  I just have to say no these days but remind her that she is having a birthday in 6 weeks.

My children have never seen what a life without abundance means. Of course they have cell phones, televisions in their rooms and have never known what it means to go to bed hungry.  For me, I was overwhelmed with frustration as spending the time at LAHIA brought be a constant reminder of the blessings the Lord has provided me on a daily basis!

We arrived to make dinner and Em was assisting me along with L. L has been in a tent in the woods for almost 2 years now. He is only 25. Em had a chance to talk with him and really enjoyed his help in the kitchen.  She was quite comfortable and showed that unconditional friendship from minute one.

We served dinner, cleaned up and headed home. Once we arrived home I went in my room to clean up and change clothes and Em went off into her own space for a little while.  She walked into my room and looked at me with her big blue eyes. The tears just falling. Suddenly she was balling like baby. All I could do was hold her and ask what was wrong. She looked up at me and said ” We have so much don’t we Mom.”  I agreed and continued comforting her.

I am a proud Mom! Em now understands how blessed she is and that the Lord provides our needs!  If we are obedient the wants will come.

Philippians 4:19

And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.

3 responses to “Finally understanding

  1. Jennifer says:

    Beautiful!

  2. Helena says:

    I love special moments like those. She will hold that in her heart forever!

  3. J says:

    it amazing what the Lord can do in our heart. he can heal our brokenes when we ask. I myself I am thank that I have a motel rooms, even after all the hate that other throw my way. I keep beleive and He keep supply.

Leave a Reply

