servingthehomeless

Just another WordPress.com site

How shepherd’s pie opened my heart

on May 2, 2012

God has blessed me with incredible cooking skills.  I credit my Mom and The Food Network for fine tuning them!  I had never made shepherd’s pie before let alone to feed 40. I had searched the internet for recipes and many were filled with things that I was not sure I wanted to eat let alone serve others. I finally decided that I would follow the basic premise but the concoction would be my own! I invited my friend Christina over to help and jumped in head first. 25lbs of hamburger, 100 servings of mashed potatoes, 5 lbs of yellow onion, 8 cans of corn and some cheese.

I can’t take credit for being any more than the hands and feet of Jesus when it comes to what I cook. As lunch was finishing up, Chris asked the gang what they thought of lunch. I heard things like “this is the best shepherd’s pie I  ever ate” or ” WOW, that was delicious!” Not a day goes by where someone doesn’t ask when I am going to make that again. Really????? Was it that great or did it come with something they hadn’t felt before; that warmness and love that goes into any meal I make.  My smile was genuine as I made my way into the dining area to talk to some of the people sitting at the tables. I met a lady who just can’t find work. She still lives in her foreclosed house but has no more unemployment, no food stamps (no minor children) and shared with me how she walks 50-60 miles per week looking for work. I listened to her as she shared her story, wondering how far away I was from that situation myself.

I realized at that very moment that my time unemployed was best serving the homeless with an open heart and a willing spirit! Instinctively I want to save them all, figure out how to help each and every one but financially I am just living on what the Lord provides me and my girls. I can cook them a great meal, I can befriend them with a warm smile and open ear every day and funny enough that is all they seek.

John 13:34

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.

 

 

2 responses to “How shepherd’s pie opened my heart

  1. Helena says:

    I’m so enjoying your writing! I can actually hear you say…Really????… as you reflect on them asking for shepherds pie again. You have lots of love in your heart, I’m happy LAHIA gets to be the recipient! See you in the morning ❤

  2. Carlyn says:

    awesome and soooooo proud of you! love you!

Leave a Reply

