servingthehomeless

Just another WordPress.com site

How I found LAHIA

on May 1, 2012

Love And Hope In Action (LAHIA) is a feeding ministry in my neighborhood. Months ago my church asked for volunteers to prepare a meal once every 8 weeks. I had done a meal in January and dropped it off with a friend to take to LAHIA for serving. I had not had an opportunity at that time to visit the facility or meet the other volunteers.   My next turn in rotation was April 3.  I spent the morning cooking shepherds  pie with Christina . We had a blast together cooking. It was a great opportunity for friends to spend time together. She and I delivered the food together and I met Chris who runs the facility.  She was warm and inviting.  I asked about more volunteer opportunities and  she let me know that I was always welcomed.  I went the very next day to help serve lunch.  I have never stopped being involved.  I should mention that I became unemployed since my first rotation. Serving at LAHIA has been a constant reminder of how fortunate I am no matter what my circumstances are.  This blog is my place to share my daily interactions with the homeless men and women of Martin Co. Florida.  I have met some wonderful people truly down on their luck. I have an opportunity to serve the Lord through LAHIA and want others to be as Blessed as I have become.

Matthew 35-40

35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ 37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ 40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

2 responses to “How I found LAHIA

  1. Yeah for you for doing this blog and for your servant heart….you are AMAZING, tammy

  2. My daughter, Asia and I helped to serve a meal with LAHIA on a Saturday and it truly blessed us.

Leave a Reply

